[Food Review] Victor’s Kitchen at Sunshine Plaza (Dim sum)

Aloha!

Sorry for the lack of posts recently, work has been crazy and that has sort of affected my mood to blog…

Not forgetting the minor breakouts I am encountering at this moment!

I seldom have pimples and when I do, it’s either I’m very stressed or am using some facial product that is not suitable for my skin…

BB cream isn’t my thing but recently, I switched to that just for the fun of it and it actually seems quite okay. The only concerns I have when using BB cream/liquid foundation is how ‘thick’ the layer will look on my face and how clogged my pores would be 🙁

I’m not too sure if this is the course of my breakouts but I am not ruling out the possibility of the increasing work stress as well 🙁

Nevertheless, today I will be reviewing on this dim sum place which the bf saw Dr Leslie Tay (ieatishootipost)‘s post on his Facebook page.

The place is located at Sunshine plaza (Middle Road) and is called Victor’s Kitchen.

I actually googled it (I love googling almost everything and anything!!) and saw some poor reviews on the customer service on Hungrygowhere.

Read below to see if this is really true.

What we ordered :

Photo 21-9-14 5 22 50 pm

Nemo’s porridge – $4.50

I thought the name of this porridge was kinda sad…? LOL. And yes I note the “‘s” which means it can actually belong to Nemo and not that we are eating Nemo….okay nevermind. #grammarpolice

Anyway, we chose Wala Wala porridge initially and chose Phoenix porridge after we were informed (rudely) that the former is out of stock. Then we were informed (rude again) that the latter is out of stock as well and settled on this Nemo’s porridge.

Photo 21-9-14 5 23 03 pm

Deep fried shrimp dumpling – $5

OMG, I didnt know this was so over-priced until now that I’m blogging about it. I didn’t check the prices cause the bf was the one who ordered (and paid, teehee!).

It was delicious no doubt but looking at the prices, on second thought, I don’t think it’s worth getting it.

Photo 21-9-14 5 23 24 pm

Char siew chee cheong fun – $4.50

 

The chee cheong fun tasted not bad but could be tastier though.

Photo 21-9-14 5 23 44 pm

Their signature golden egg yolk lava bun, aka liu sha bao – $4.50

Photo 21-9-14 10 38 37 pm

The mandatory picture of liu sha bao

Friends and reviewers said that their liu sha bao is awesome but I thought it was so-so. This could be because I didn’t have them immediately after they were served to us as I was struggling to finish the other dishes!

Photo 21-9-14 5 23 50 pm

Scallop, sausage carrot cake with xo sauce – $4.50

I read the review on this dish on one of the food blogs before heading down to actually have a taste of it myself.

To be honest, this was actually my first experience trying out the traditional steamed carrot cake. Be it steamed or pan-fried, they are both actually reddish instead of carrot…

Anyway, although it was interesting I actually prefer the usual pan-fried version.

Photo 21-9-14 5 23 56 pm

Victor’s King prawn dumpling – $5.00

I thought the skin was quite thick which isn’t really my preference. I don’t like it when one bite of it forces the prawn and skin to be separated from each other kind, you know?

Anyway, I’m not a fan of ha gao so….yeah.

Photo 21-9-14 5 25 17 pm

Tasty queen size siew mai – $4.50

Now, don’t let its name fool you. I didn’t thought of it as ‘queen size’ until I read its name now.

It’s not that gigantic and somewhat similar to the usual normal size.

Taste is quite yummy though.

Photo 21-9-14 5 23 10 pm

Iced coffee ($3) and Yuan Yang ($2.50)

Iced coffee tasted okay, cannot comment on the yuan yang because I didn’t try it.

But OMG, both seems quite pricey especially my iced coffee!! 🙁

Photo 21-9-14 5 27 25 pm

Bird’s eye view of our super late lunch or early dinner, however you want to call it.

Now onto the customer service which I really place loads of importance and significance upon when judging and reviewing food and eateries.

I must say that, sadly, I have to agree with the reviewer’s view on the poor customer service.

When we first arrived at the small, unmaintained small shop, we were not served.

We were instead ignored when the bf told the staff ‘Table for 2’ and I was quite annoyed about that.

When the bf was placing his orders with the lady cashier (younger one), he remarked that she was quite rude as well, giving that nonchalant attitude. And when she had to come by our table to inform us twice for out of stock items, she was giving the same rude attitude as well.

However, I actually witnessed that the old lady was quite friendly towards the end and to other customers.

Could it be because they despise younger customers?

Whatever it is, my take is that they should improve their customer service quality as well as upgrade their shop, taking care of hygiene issues too.

Victor’s Kitchen

91 Bencoolen Street

Sunshine Plaza, #01-49

Singapore 189652
T: 98382851

Mon-Sun:   10:30am – 8:00pm

Open on public holidays.

Overall rating :

3 stars

 

*A more accurate rating would be 3.5 but I dont have a pic for that 🙂